The Theme Song of “My Kingdom” – Like a Dream

On July 10, 2011, Han Geng presented premiere of the theme song of movie “My Kingdom” in front of eighty thousands audiences at the Annual Celebration of Chinese Talents Show held in Shanghai Stadium.

Our Han Geng’s performance is full of emotion, and his voice perfectly expresses the sentiment and affection of this song. I suggest to put on earphone and turn up the video volume ^^ So we can enjoy Han Geng’s voice more, despite of the relatively loud accompany due to this oversize venue. Looking forward to the studio version!!!

 

Here is the lyrics of this song. Thanks to Windchime’s enthusiasm, I can post a brilliant translation here right now, for our non-Chinese readers. She managed to translate it right after the performance. Thank you, Windchime! 

PS: The title of this song in Chinese is 如梦令。如梦令 is the name of particular pattern of tunes and format used in a kind of ancient Chinese poetry which was initially for singing. Since Song Dynasty, this kind of poetry gradually disconnected with melody and rhythm, and the name of a fixed pattern of tunes and format became the linguistic and phonological struture. Therefore, 令 in this context can refer to poetry which can be sung like a song, and 如梦 means like a dream. If we want to make it brief and easy to understand, I think Like a Dream is an okay translation in this case, although it may weaken the poetry-like sense in this song. This makes me recall a very famous translator’s words, in his opinion, it’s almost impossible to translate poem perfectly…I think we just need to do our best  🙂  

I would like to post the Chinese lyrics here as well ^^

如梦令

词:高晓松

梦见你在昏暗的房间里面
梦见你转过身萧瑟的走远
最远处的海天相连
最近处的人们相见

直到你转过身投入了人烟
直到你醒过来一切都没变
誓言在哪一天兑现
人们在哪一天再见

还在风雨里挥舞的清风长剑
还在岁月里奔跑的痴心少年……
那流水般的舞台
从来就没人离开
没人回来

还在长街的尽头燃烧的人烟
还在无边的黑夜弹起的琴弦
那流过血的舞台
从来就没人离开
没人回来

Although we are not sure if Director Gao is the composer, it is for sure that the lyrics is by him. As a very famous song writer in China, Director Gao did a good job. The song is full of his style, and at same time, the imagery implications of the lyrics properly matches the conception of the movie.

PS: if new information or pics come out, I will just continue updating…  😀

About bristlegrass

I think this is the right place for me to write my introduction~~~ Hopefully, I am right this time! As Pinetree introduced, I am a devoted fan of Han Geng (Gengfan). I am from China, except for my nationality, my love for Han Geng and purpose for joining here would the same as Pinetree's! So, I will refer this part to Pinetree's self-introduction...Yeah, I know, I am lazy~~~and I am still learning the blogging skills~~~I hope I would be able to change this part sometime later T.T ^^ Say Hello to Everyone Who Can See Me Here~~~
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Theme Song of “My Kingdom” – Like a Dream

  1. trueblue says:

    Hahaha you posted ..thanks..very informative
    When I first heard the start of the song, (the melody) it sounds similar to another theme song “Romance in the Rain”…hehehe..but on the whole, the song is quite pleasant..

    • bristlegrass says:

      Oh, my dear trueblue…T.T…you know, some Chinese gengfans cried when both reading the lyrics and hearing the song…Haha, I didn’t, perhaps because I listened to quite a few this type of ballad songs before…always got a feeling of light sadness, not strong, but can still feel it. Seems like the affections and implications are hard to translated…

  2. trueblue says:

    Like A Dream Song…

    • bristlegrass says:

      Yes…I think this is how we can translate the title literally, haha!

      • trueblue says:

        There is another interpretation…Like The Order of Dreams
        As you have mentioned, it is difficult to translate Chinese poetry into English or other languages because the tendency is that the flow and meaning will be lost..
        So that is the closest one can get to the meaning of that title..hehehe…
        good job though B’grass…
        So you are going to Toronto to watch the movie or some other cities in Canada? hehe
        Are you also volunteering for the movie as well? I know that Lucy yang is..!! hahaha

      • bristlegrass says:

        YES!!! I will definitely watch My Kingdom in theather…but not sure in which city though. I will have my vacation plan pretty soon, hehehehe~~~

  3. Mandy says:

    The MV is out. The song is beautiful.

  4. Observer says:

    Yes, Han Geng! I could not have enough of your MV/song. The more I hear it, the more I love it!

Leave a Reply

