His Life Magazine – Interview (conclusion part)

Han Geng has finally come back.. and with such a blast!!

A blast that was so powerful that it almost blew away some of the fans..!

Some may not like his new concept and yet others may be in shock..!

And yet there were others who simply love it to bits..!

Then there were his antagonists who had to reluctantly admit that Han Geng is good..!

And before we all go gaga or analytical over this new album of his, let’s read the conclusion of the interview conducted  by His Life magazine..

Please take extra attention to those sentences in bold letters. This part is all about Qs & As..

Q & A

Q: How does actor Han Geng and singer Han Geng conflict?
A: If I am doing music, I will put movies aside and focus on music, vice -versa. Music is about expressing my attitude and thoughts to other people, and on stage, I want to give my audience an extravagant audio, visual and emotional experience. On the other hand, movie is about being someone else, to let the viewers form an emotional connection with the movie character.

Q: As compared to “My Kingdom“, in what way is this new movie more challenging?
A: The original novel has been changed up to 70/80%, none of the lines in the novel was used in the movie. My character Lin Jing is a quiet person with few lines, but he underwent tremendous changes in a few years, from being a happy and carefree youth to being a highly capable and matured man.

Q: The female actors whom you have worked with, like Big S and Vicky Zhao, are all experienced actresses. You have less experience in filming, how do you overcome your apprehension?
A: I discussed the character, the script and story plot with the director, screenwriter and executive producer throughout the filming process. Their explanation and guidance greatly helped to infuse this story into my body and mind, allowing me to better grasp the correct ‘emotion’  during the shoot.

Q : Did Vicky Zhao and Gao Xiaosong reveal why they chose you for their movies? Was it because of your music work?
A: No, I don’t think music had a part to play in both, because actors are chosen depending on their suitability for the movie character. So I think these 2 directors did not choose on the basis on the actor’s popularity or music achievements. I like acting, and wish to be an actor, so I am very grateful to Gao xiaosong for giving me the opportunity to film my first movie.

Q: What were you like before your first meeting with Gao xiaosong?
A: I have met Gao long before the filming began, because he once invited me to participate in a music play. Due to rigidity of my schedule, I had to reject the invitation. After some time, he gave me the script <<My Kingdom>>, and recommended me to read for its good plot and complemented that I would have an advantage in terms of action movies.

Q: Da S is quite hardworking and responsible?
A: Yes. I realised that actors’ fighting spirit during filming is no way inferior to a singer performing on stage; behind each minute of stage performance is 10 years of hard work offstage.

Q: How is Vicky Zhao and Gao Xiaosong different in their working style?
A: Gao endows actors with more freedom and encouragement to perform while Zhao pays more attention to details and is a perfectionist; she will request for a reshoot if a slight flaw is spotted. After all, Zhao has been an actress for many years and would have a lot of experience and thoughts regarding the shoot. The story plot appealed to me, especially the character LinJing underwent dramatic changes; I have never tried to portray such a character before, hence I would very much like to give it a try.

Q: This movie is about youth, have you had a passionate relationship when you were young?
A: I had one right after my high school graduation, the year I went to Korea. I could only see her once every 3 months, and it was a very tough to maintain that long-distance relationship. So I would like to say that I have not experienced a very passionate relationship before, and it is quite a pity.

The boss Han Geng: I don’t feel like a boss   

Q: How do you feel as the boss of your team?
A: I don’t feel like a boss, because my team is made up of my friends, and we tend to engage in discussions to bring out the best outcome.

Q: Are you good at persuading and convincing other people?
A: No. I am bad at expressing myself. If I perceive my idea to be outstanding, I would try to find other ways to convince them. Other times, I would compromise.

Q: What do you think can be improved about your team?
A: I think all is well now. My team is made up of close friends who understand each other well. They are very capable and serious in their work, striving to achieve the best results at every stage. I believe that we are growing together as a team.

Q: You are preparing for your next concert right? How will it be different from the first concert?
A: The first concert was held before my album release, we were short of time and were unable to pay too much attention to details. Yet, I still feel proud for being able to put up such a show in that time constraint.

Q: Are you more relaxed about the second concert?
A: Not really. The concert has fully occupied my mind.  I want to blend the album concept with the concert to present a splendid show. Many concerts are like a fan meeting, where the singer keeps singing till the very end; I want to add in more, to give my audience a different experience.

Q: You have great tolerance, how have you changed over the past 2 years? Or do you still keep everything to yourself?
A: I have become even less outspoken, and this is probably the norm in society. I have to learn to bear, there are those whom I believe in, and there also people whom I don’t dare to believe in. The environment has become very cold and most people are like this, so I have to change in order to adapt to and survive in this environment.

Q: How do you overcome the obstacles?
A: I think that lack of trust between people is undesirable. Thus, the lyrics in my new album describe this apathy between people, my inner feelings— what will my future turn out to be? What do I live for? When should I express my true emotions and deep thoughts when facing people.

Q: Music should be an incredibly strong and powerful tool for you right?
A: I want to convey love and warmth to people with the new album, to teach people how to love; I want to initiate more programs like Lovelife.

Han Geng— A big boy who is serious in front of the camera, a superstar which picks, inspects the outcome of the shooting meticulously. He may not have been labelled as being a matured man yet, but in our (magazine) heart, we already view Han Geng as the most reliable and meticulous superstar. Walking in with his custom-made microphone, Han Geng exhibits his unique Geng-style charisma.

When Han Geng and his assistance stepped into the filming scene, we noticed a case. It turns out that Han Geng brought his custom-made, highly valuable microphone along for the shoot.
Han Geng brought his small team of 3 co-workers, and entered the scene casually. This was nothing like what I (magazine) pictured to be of an artist who returned from Korea, and this prompted me to want to learn more about him. In fact, just like how Han Geng is so supportive of the Lovelife Charity program, Han Geng has also been  striving to maintain the things which belonged to him.!
Our main theme for this shoot is a blend of old Romanian elements with modern elements. We invited the extremely popular idol superstar Han Geng, hoping that his modern element blended with Romanian elements will bring out a new Han Geng for his fans.
When shooting one set of clothes, Han Geng proposed to roll up the sleeves, and discussed with our fashion designer on the appropriate changes. In the midst of making the changes, Han Geng’s mischievous nature created a very fun working atmosphere for us (magazine). After finished shooting each set, Han Geng will inspect the photos and discuss with the photographers on how to improve, displaying professionalism throughout.

This extremely popular idol, because of his flawless cooperation, the whole magazine shoot took less than 4 hours. The whole process was very joyous, and even during the resting time, Han Geng reiterated that he wants to bring warmth and love to people, to let people understand how to love and not be so cold. This 4 hours was really memorable and impressive, and we (magazine) believe that more fans will continue to support Ham Geng  and charity.

My notes : Han Geng has his own custom-,made microphone and ear-phones….and that said, I would like to point out on what Han Geng said about his new concept in his music..He said that he has become less out-spoken, learn to bear, and there are people whom he doesn’t dare to believe in..The environment has become cold and he has to change to adapt to it in order to survive that environment..!!

This is what I fear for Han Geng..I hope he will not change too much..Change is also good depending on which areas that needed change..I feel sad for him when he is being bashed unwarrantedly and being misunderstood for all the principles which he stood for..! I do hope that he will not lose the trust in people and become callus in his heart..

This new concept in his 2nd album is  WAY FOR HIM TO LET OUT HIS FRUSTRATIONS AND SPEAK OUT HIS MIND (TO NO-ONE IN PARTICULAR). IT IS HIS THERAPY, FOR HIM TO AGAIN BELIEVE IN PEOPLE AND SOCIETY..HE NEEDS TO GET ALL THE NEGATIVE ENERGY OUT FROM HIS SYSTEM..!  This is my thoughts on why he did what he did..It is a healing process for him when he is able to “cry” out his “helplessness” in songs..! I am now able to understand why it took him 2 years albeit including other factors to come out with this..

I hope that after reading this, you guys may be able to  share your own insights on this..Thanks for your time in reading this long post..I will be back soon for the next post on his album..

Credits: Wang Jin..and pictures as tagged. Take out with credits, please….
This entry was posted in Magazine Interviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to His Life Magazine – Interview (conclusion part)

  1. valerin says:

    some relate this album concept mostly to his past but for me , he wish to speak out smth from himself and expression to the society’s point of view. Whatever experiences he has indeed is a precious gift which unlikely to be forget. Throughout songs tat been broadcast so far is really well made and achieve certain level of quality, very good. From me, personally feel quite connect to the concept as to the working environment and all sort of reality rules in society.

    we are not living in our own world but with the variety kind of person in society, so different ppl , diff attitude, diff mask, diff perspective and need to hear many b4 making decision. sometimes chaos occur, which totally contrast to our own principles, frustration unavoidly happen. Many emotions arouse when hearing his music for new album, u know wat… his music make me rethink… things happen for reasons, perhaps for the time being i cant find a reason or solution fr my question, but i surely can learn smth during my process to deal with the obstacle ahead, listening music can be enjoyable and learn smth frm it (remarkable)

    ps: sorry with all the mumbling ~ plz don bother with it ~ well, cheers everybody ~ lovelife!

  2. mish says:

    Thank you, Garnetblue, for posting this magazine interview. It is a very well written interview that shows Han Geng’s thoughts and the concept behind this new album. I like every song released so far in this new album. All of the songs, MV, photos center around the album topic “Hope in the darkness” and clearly display the sincerety of his work and life attitute. The theme leans toward darker side with frustation, unjust, distrust, betrayal, memory of youth, goal of life etc. I think it reflects his life of the past two years, changing from an innocent boy who had lived in relative seclusion (schools then restrictive idol life) to a man who has to meet all the realities of society and complex entertainment circle face on. I miss the little boy with angelic smile, but I admire this almost man who is always reflecting on himself to become his own hero in a difficult world.

Leave a Reply

